A day in Venice, Italy

As I mentioned in my 101 things in 1001 days challenge, one of my lifelong goals has always been to get to visit Venice, where a friend of mine lives.

After seeing so many pictures of it throughout the years, I thought I wouldn’t feel as strong of a surprise seeing the famous canals, buildings and bridges, but I was absolutely wrong.

As the train approached the sea leaving Mestre (the mainland part of Venice), we all of a sudden found ourselves surrounded by water while it kept hurtling down the railway in the middle of the sea for roughly 4.5 kilometers (almost 2.5 miles) before arriving at the S. Lucia train station. Saying that it was amazing and terrifying at the same time is an understatement. It felt like flying even though we were at sea level and basically floating. At this point, I was already in love.

Unfortunately, I have no pictures of this part of the trip as I felt so surprised and overwhelmed that I didn’t even think about looking for my camera, but I found this video ย on YouTube that gives a pretty good idea of how it feels to be there (I made it start from the point when the train leaves the mainland).

As soon as I stepped foot in Venice, I starting taking pictures as if my life depended on it (if you follow me on Instagram, you probably already noticed that the Venetian theme is beginning to spread on my page).

So, without further ado, here’s a gallery of my favorite shots from the trip. ๐Ÿ™‚

Can’t think of a better way to start 2017 (and my challenge) with the right foot!

How was your first day of 2017? ๐Ÿ™‚

Sam

5 thoughts on “A day in Venice, Italy

  1. Pingback: 101 Things in 1001 Days – The Caffeine Gal

    1. Thank you! I’ve been wanting to visit Venice for as long as I can remember and thought that being already accustomed to seeing beautiful pictures of it (thanks, Pinterest and Instagram) would take away part of its charm. I’ve never been more wrong in my whole life, I’ll tell you that. You’ll absolutely love it, I’m sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Venice is one place that my partner would like me to visit and I have been in two minds to go there. I’m sure I would love it too, I must plan a trip there too. I loved the little parts of Italy I have seen so far and want to adventure there again. Lovely photos you got too. I have just returned from Barcelona and wanted to photograph everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you’d have a marvelous time. I’ve been back for two weeks now, yet I’m still daydreaming about it.
      Thanks, I’m glad you like them ๐Ÿ™‚
      I bet you did! Such a great city, I’d love to visit it in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

