Starting bullet journaling

Folks, I finally did it: I bought the most beautiful little black notebook and decided I’ll just go for it!

photo12073j58458898261991.jpg

As you may know, I’ve been wanting to start a proper bullet journal for quite a long time and here I am, wondering what I should do with it, now that I finally have it.

I’m not sure which layout I’ll choose, whether I’ll be minimalist as I’m used to or I’ll try to get out of my comfort zone and learn new things like lettering and drawing small things.

Anyhow, I decided to start with something simple and wrote one of my favorite motivational quotes (if you’re interested in finding out more, I’ll leave the link to my Pinterest board) with the hope it’ll help me focus on the real reason why I bought this notebook in the first place: learning new things without the expectation of having to be good at them from the very beginning.

DSC02442d.jpg

Any bujo junkies out there? Do you have any layout inspirations for my monthly/weekly/daily log?

Sam

 

18 thoughts on “Starting bullet journaling

    1. Thank you! I’m really glad you like it! That’s exactly why it took me so long to finally buy one, I always thought I wouldn’t be able to keep up with it, but as I’m having exams for the next month and don’t really have anything to write apart from exam dates I decided to just go for it and (hopefully) learn along the way. For now, I’ll just try to fill some pages with doodles, frames etc to understand which layout I like best – and most of all, what I’m actually capable of drawing and what is just too much for me (haven’t really drawn anything since 8th grade or so, so it’ll be a challenge).
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Sam

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Debra!
      Those are actually all great ideas, I’ll definitely try to create a page (at the beginning, at least, until I properly understand how the whole bullet journal thing works) for each of them, thank you so much for the input!
      On this note, have you already published something about it in your blog?
      Sam

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Just read your blog post (thanks for the link, btw!), I love the fact that it already has a beautiful layout, I couldn’t find similar journals anywhere and had to settle for a blank one, but that definitely is a great starting point!
        Thank you, good luck with yours as well πŸ™‚
        PS – Last night I tried out some of the ideas you gave me (I’ll post them as soon as I get a chance) and of course there’s still a lot of work to be done, but I really like how they turned out so far, so thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tabby!
      Thank you! I totally understand, I’ve been meaning to start bullet journaling for almost 6 months now πŸ˜‰
      I hope my posts will help you better understand how you feel about it and – who knows – maybe one day you’ll start one as well!
      Sam
      Ps – love your blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. happylittlehousewife

    I love how you aren’t sure about the lettering but your quote is just stunning (the font) and what I aspire my bullet journaling to be!!! Lol I adore my bullet journal, it’s easy to maintain and my biggest hint is don’t work too far ahead as if you do months in advance and then decide you hate an aspect of something you’re either stuck with it or have to waste those pages. I started simple with a bit of washi tape to decorate, the date and then my list of things to do. I gradually changed and fine-tuned my journal. I’ve this year changed to a kikki-k planner which I will bullet journal in and it’s like starting the process again, working out what I like, what works etc etc. I’m sure if you don’t overwhelm yourself straight up and expect too much you’ll grow to love it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you like it!
      That’s a great idea, I think I’ll adopt the same technique for mine as well πŸ™‚
      I actually bought two journals (one smaller than the other) at the same time and the idea is using the smallest one to learn what works for me and what doesn’t.
      Thank you for your advice (and for stopping by)!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love bullet journals so much, so satisfying! I found something online called ‘a year in pixels’. Look it up, I think it’s such a lovely idea! I’m trying each month in pixels instead of a whole year, I’m def more likely to stick to it x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So do I! I just looked it up, it’s absolutely beautiful, thanks for the heads-up!
      Have you talked about it in any of your blog’s posts? If so, I’d be thrilled to give a look at it if you could send me the link πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not yet! Will maybe do one at the end of February so I have a full month x really like the idea of having a page for each month and tracking your moods! It might be just a bit unrealistic though, as I am so forgetful, and probably unlikely to remember everyday… Will be giving it a try though!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: What’s In My Bag – The Caffeine Gal

Leave a Reply

