2017 Resolutions, a little late

I really tried not to write my annual New Year’s resolutions in the past few weeks because I know from experience I never ever take them seriously once that January’s over.

Here’s what I’m going to do. As you probably noticed by now, I love making lists of stuff, so here’s the list of things I’d love to be better at in 2017.

DSC025d85.jpg

  • I’d love to learn how to be genuinely happy for other people’s accomplishments without feeling the need to always make comparisons;
  • I’d love to form a sort of routine in order to schedule my daily hours of study and therefore not feel guilty when I’m watching a movie or reading a book;
  • I’d love to wake up earlier without having to take a nap in the middle of the day ’cause I’m too tired to keep going until evening;
  • I’d love to find some sort of physical activity to do late at night right before going to bed in order to – hopefully – fall asleep more quickly;
  • I’d love to take more risks in the small things on a daily basis, like trying a new cafe or restaurant, instead of the same old ones;
  • I’d love to approach exams that I hate the same way I approach the ones that I love and always keep in mind that it’s OK if I’ll need a little more time than my friends to graduate, as long as I don’t spend that time worrying about being late and try to do things that I care about instead;
  • I’d love to find something I’m passionate about and help other people thanks to it;
  • I’d love to spend a little more money on traveling and a little less money on clothes;
  • I’d love to go to sleep with a smile more often;
  • I’d love to drink more water and eat healthily;
  • I’d love to cut back on coffee and try to replace it with tea instead (sometimes, let’s not get crazy here);
  • I’d love to be smart enough to choose who and what’s really best for me without stepping on other people’s feelings and dreams;
  • I’d love to try each and every single day to get a little closer to the person I want to be;
  • I’d love to listen to more and better music;
  • I’d love to read more and better books;
  • I’d love to write more and better;
  • I’d love to talk more and better;
  • I’d love to think more and better.

I’d also love to know if you have any resolutions of your own that you’d like to share with me.

Sam

32 thoughts on “2017 Resolutions, a little late

  1. I love your list! I love making lists, too. It helps me out so much. I’m starting to become my mom – “If it doesn’t get written down, it doesn’t happen.”

    For me, I do monthly goal posts on my blog (Thanks for following, by the way!). Doing those these last few months have definitely helped me! I get a lot of feedback, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laura 🙂
      Thank you!
      That’s so right what your mom says!
      Yes, I totally understand: writing things down helps me focus and overcome obstacules (mostly psychological ones), plus I love making lists which is always a bonus and I very recently started a bullet journal, so I really had to excuse not to combine the three!
      I’m curious: given that you’re way more familiar than I am with goal lists, do you still feel the pressure of the New Year or does it go away with time?

      Like

  2. This is a great list; very thoughtful. I don’t make resolutions for the year. Taking risks, even little ones, and the last three things on your list resonate with me. I just try to do what is right and work to improve what I can most days. Best wishes throughout the year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Robin, I’m really glad you like it!
      That’s a smart decision on your part.
      Unfortunately, in order to make my goals stick I have to be more specific than that (I’m still training my will power), but if that works for you, well done!
      Thank you, wish you a remarkable 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great idea! I made a list of 365 things to do in the new year, and have started blogging about it… So far it’s going well. Some things are really simple but as I get deeper into the list there are harder “tasks” of things to do. I think blogging about it and having people support you in the endeavor can be helpful and a little more motivating! Best wishes to you and if you need a little push along the way reach out and maybe your online community can help you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Megan 🙂
      I really hope you’ll be able to finish all of your tasks before 2017 ends!
      As for me, I decided to go for two different lists (this one and the 101 things in 1001 days one) in order to add both short and long term tasks.
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a thoughtful list of resolutions! About your third one, I started needing less of a nap midday after about a month of being regular in my earlier wake and sleep schedule. Also adaptogenic herbs have helped tremendously.

    One of my biggest resolutions is to integrate a set daily routine of working on my blog (Thanks for following by the way)so I can do more fun things like, commenting on great blogs 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Lorena 🙂
      I’m so glad you like them!
      Oh, really? That’s great news. I’m hoping that a reasonable sleep schedule will help me as well in starting more healthy habits like that one.
      (I’ll make sure to ask my mom about those herbs, thanks!)
      That’s another thing I’d love to do as well, how is that working for you? 🙂

      Like

  5. I am so jealous of your penmanship! I’ve been a teacher for the past forever, and now that I’m a stay-at-home Mum I’m trying to get away from my Teacher Writing, which comes in two forms, the ‘I’m writing an example for these 4 year olds so each letter has to be perfect’ form, and the ‘Oh my God I’ve got to get this plan done before the children come in’ form.

    As you may have seen (thanks for the follow x) my writing isn’t particularly pretty or consistent, do you have any tips or tricks that you could pass on to us green-eyed monsters?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laura!
      You’ll be happy to know that I’m not naturally gifted with a beautiful handwriting either and it took me forever to get that page done 😉
      As it happens, though, I’m working on making my normal calligraphy resemble something that people would post on Pinterest (if you know what I mean), so if I were to ever find any good tips I’d be more than happy to share them!

      Like

  6. Hi Sam! I love your list! That thing you can do to help you go to sleep… bedtime yoga. No kidding. It’s super easy and really helpful with winding down. There are a bunch of youtube videos you can check out but I just do five easy poses and hold each one about 10 seconds.
    1 Tadasana
    2 Hero’s pose
    3 Child’s pose
    4 Viparita Karani
    5 Sleeping Goddess
    Best of luck in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello there!
      I’ve seriously considered giving it a try, but I never found the time to go to the gym and learn from a pro, so I just gave up pretty quickly. If you tell me that youtube will do the job as well, though, I’ll definitely giving it a try in the near future, thanks for the heads-up!

      Like

    1. Hello Vicky 🙂
      I’m so glad!
      That one is the most important (and difficult) thing on the list, and it’s my favorite as well 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Sam

      Like

  7. For writing, I set daily, weekly, and monthly goals. I write down where I should be on my goals on a calendar for each day, and the approximate day the book should be done. AND, I have a beta reader, whom I share my successes with. 2,000 a day, 1,000 reached, next 1,000 reached, or that I haven’t made it. Life gets in the way. But it’s the only way I can make all the deadlines I’m on. Holding myself accountable. And sharing it with a friend. She does the same with her weight watchers with me. 🙂 And if we don’t make it, there’s always another day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true: deadlines are the best way I know to keep going.
      I normally use very similar criteria with the daily amount of pages that I have to study in order to stay on track and end up talking about it almost every day with one friend or another, so that helps as well. 🙂

      Like

  8. hannahphora

    Oh my goodness, your handwriting is unbelievably neat and pretty. I love lists and planners, so this picture makes my brain happy. 🙂 Good luck on your resolutions; they sound wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award – The Caffeine Gal

Leave a Reply

