Proudest Moment

31 Days Blog Challenge: Day 10 of 31 (first posts here: 1, 234, 5, 67, 8, 9, 10)

I’m normally overenthusiastic about questions: give me a question mark and I’ll be fine. There’s only one exception to this unconditional love of mine: “what is your greatest accomplishment?”

Someone asked me that once during a brief interview and it just left me speechless.

It wasn’t a matter of modesty as if telling it out loud would make me look like I was bragging about it, I simply realized that nothing that I had done until then really felt like an accomplishment. I was a good student, but that didn’t have real repercussions on my life. I spoke several languages (not too many, but still a little more than most of the people I knew), but that didn’t feel like an accomplishment either. I was in my 20s and simply had no clue.

Since then, I repeatedly asked myself that very question to try to figure out if that was just a phase and there actually was something that I had done that I considered an accomplishment and I just didn’t remember about it.

I’m overjoyed to be finally able to say that I know what my greatest accomplishment is. I need some context, though. Here it goes:

When I decided to go to Law school I already knew I didn’t want to become a lawyer: instead, I saw it as a challenge.

Having studied foreign languages for a thousand years already (at least, it felt like forever) I just wanted to switch area of expertise.

I didn’t know what I wanted to become (I still don’t), so I decided to go for a not-so-conventional method: I imagined I was having a conversation with an acquaintance of mine (the same age as I am) who I really disliked and thought about what she could say to really do some psychological damage.

The answer was “I graduated from law school and you didn’t”. In that moment, I figured that if that simple sentence had the power to make me feel the most miserable it probably was because it was the one thing that I really wanted. So that’s what I did.

The only problem with that was that for most of the time that I’ve spent there so far I rarely felt like I was meant to be there, I always had the impression of being out of place.

That until the second semester of my first year, when I attended “Philosophy of Law”. I remember thinking, just after the end of the first lesson, “I’m not exactly sure what this is, the only thing I know is that this is what I want to do for the rest of my life”. To give you an idea of what I mean by that, let’s just say that I more than once experienced Joyce-style epiphanies in the middle of the lessons and a couple of times almost broke down in tears, as overwhelmed as I was by the professor’s brilliance.

After that, nothing until last September, when I discovered that the same professor held two courses. Needless to say, I enrolled in both of them. I knew that he only taught those three courses and I should leave one for the future, but I simply couldn’t.

During one of the two, he told us that we could write a paper about something that we were passionate about related to what we had talked about in class. Again, there I was, spending almost 2 full months on a paper which wouldn’t have changed my grade or anything, just to get a chance to do something that I loved and spend a couple of minutes once a week with someone that I considered a genius.

We’re almost there.

The day of the exam finally came.

Caesar said:

“Veni, vidi, vici.”

I went. I saw. I won.

And, guys, I went to the exam, I saw that he recognized me and I won his attention.

What’s my greatest accomplishment, you ask? I’ll be collaborating with the man who managed to make me spend a whole semester shedding tears for the intellectual depth of his thoughts.

What about you? What would you answer if I asked you what your greatest accomplishment is?

Sam


Proudest Moment.png

24 thoughts on “Proudest Moment

  1. My greatest accomplishment is my blog. I know it seems trivial but it’s my space where I get to be me, let out my frustrations and random thoughts and I created it. I’m not married or a parent but if I were, they would definitely be my greatest achievement. @T2Pneuma@gmail.com should definitely be proud of his accomplishments.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my what a story! Excellent punchline ta boot.
    It would be hard to really pin down my greatest achievement. I have three which aren’t fully grown yet and I doubt it’s socially acceptable to pick the best one even when they do grow up. 😉 But, the kids aside (ha as if… if only *whimsically dreaming of tranquil ocean waves*)… if I were to say that giving birth three times wasn’t an incredibly monumental achievement in itself, the two completed marathons I did also demonstrating the peak of my physical prowess but not what I would class as my greatest achievement.
    I would have to say..making myself useful to society by studying Engineering. To go back to uni at my age, and to have passed the first year and a half… in a male dominated industry with a family to care for. That’s achievement enough for now!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s me as I was reading your comment: “Yeah, that’s definitely a great achievement. No, wait, marathons? Wow, that’s a great achievem- SHE DID WHAT?”
      Not to take anything away from your kids, but wow, going back to uni once you have a family is impressive to say the least!
      Agreed, that’s definitely more than enough 🙂

      Like

  3. Hey, thanks for the follow! Your blog is simple and gorgeous and I can’t wait to see more 🙂

    My greatest achievement so far…? I don’t know about that, but here are a couple of things I’m proud of: I paid off my own vehicle and student loans before the age of 25, I’ve driven across the United States in both directions twice, and almost a year ago I moved out of my parents’ house. I love them, but I needed to get out of that reality. And it’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made, for all of us.

    Also, I’ve recently decided (after years of talking about it) to switch fields and go back to programming, starting with web development, which I always enjoyed but put aside repeatedly to make the things above possible. It’s still as fascinating as ever and I really hope to make it a career.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Allison!
      I’m so glad you like it 🙂
      That’s really impressive, congratulations!
      I’ll be moving out of my parents’ in the near future as well, do you have any tips?
      Good for you! What was your field up until now?

      Like

  4. Thanks 🙂 I went to culinary school and majored in patisserie and baking, but the market where I live now (I’m from a big city and now I live in the woods) isn’t very conducive to what I can do and the pay in the industry is not very good these days, so I was in insurance for a while but the commute was a killer. So I decided it was time for a change, I have this desire to do something I enjoy for a long time, so… Fingers crossed!

    As far as tips, I wrote this for you: https://allisonjeanetteblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/21/on-moving/

    Hope it helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: If I Won The Lottery… – The Caffeine Gal

  6. My greatest accomplishment (at the moment) has been surviving an abusive relationship from 2006 through 2010, and trusting in God and my support system enough, and then running into the amazing man that is now my husband. People say we are perfect for each other. I know that we balance each other out, we love each other unconditionally, we enjoy being together, and we love each other’s families. We’ve been married for almost a year and a half, and we bought a house nearly a year ago. I feel incredibly lucky, and blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m loving this series of posts. It’s really inspired me to start thinking about doing a series of my own!! My greatest achievement – well I guess that would have to be my 2 kids. They inspire, motivate and engage me (both good and bad) every day.
    I’ve nominated you and your blog for the Blogger Recognition Award – https://happylittlehousewife.wordpress.com/2017/01/24/blogger-nomination-post/
    Let me know if you decide to do it I would love to read your post (you don’t actually have to do anything the post says to do). I just wanted you to know that I appreciate your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello there 🙂
      I’m so glad, let me know if you do, I’d love to read them!
      Yes, I totally understand 🙂
      That’s so sweet of you, thank you so much! I’ll try to find the time to squeeze another post into my weekly schedule!

      Like

  8. Hi Sam.
    Thank you for the follow.
    My greatest accomplishment so far would be sticking it out with this blog. There have been so many opportunities to give up but I am still here and that’s huge.
    You have a great blog!

    Rolain

    Like

    1. Hi Rolain 🙂
      That’s a huge accomplishment, congratulations! I’ve only been blogging for a couple of months and you’re right, there are plenty of opportunities to give up.
      I’m really glad you like my blog 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Sam

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Favorite Quote – The Caffeine Gal

  10. Pingback: What’s In My Bag – The Caffeine Gal

  11. Pingback: Timeline Of My Day – The Caffeine Gal

  12. Pingback: Changes (3 min read) – The Caffeine Gal

Leave a Reply

