Writing Challenge: Day 2

Day 2 of 30: Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot.

Some time ago, I was talking to a close friend of mine about 2016 and how strange the whole year has been. We ended up creating an expression, “effect 2016”, to describe something incredibly odd and improbable.

After that day, we kept creating new “effects” (for instance, the Agatha Christie effect, aka when you read/watch/eat something so good that your old standards won’t ever satisfy you again) and we even decided to create an effect for each other.

He told me that my effect would be something like: why would you ever choose to do just one thing when you could be doing ten all at once and losing sleep at the same time?

It sounds silly, but that’s exactly what my life looks like from outside and it got me thinking. I don’t think I’ll be changing my lifestyle, focusing on just one thing makes me a lot less efficient ’cause I know I have plenty of time to do it, while whenever I have to do more that one thing at a time I have to have some sort of schedule in order to do both and I end up being more productive, and if losing some hours of sleep is all what it takes, well, count me in, I’ll sleep when I’m dead.

What about you? would your effect be?

Sam

Leave a Reply

