Changes (3 min read)

Hello everyone, how have you all been doing?

These past few weeks have been full of surprises and I’ve got some news concerning the blog, which I hope you’ll like.

First of all, let me draw some context here.

As you may or may not know, a couple of months ago I learned that I’d be collaborating with a professor of mine on a project I’ve been working on for 6 months now.
This – of course – came as a huge (or should I say “yuge”) surprise, but I didn’t really hope it could evolve into anything bigger. Well, I was wrong, and I’m so glad I was.
As it turns out, the initial project is now becoming way more serious than I thought it would be in the first place, and more and more people are getting involved.

This is why I had to take a break from anything that wasn’t absolutely necessary (socials, blog etc) in order to be able to deliver everything in time.

At this point, though, it seems highly improbably that the amount of work will decrease, at least in the short term, and this is why I decided to take some time to think about what I really want to carry on doing and what I’d better say goodbye to.

The thing that unstabilized me the most was that it suddenly seemed like some of the things that I never really thought would be possible are actually starting to work out and that made me question whether the effort I’m putting in other things has still a reason to be.

Among all the activities that I’m doing, some are successful and some aren’t, some make me happy and some don’t, some are things I’m good at and some are not.

What I’ve been trying to do for the past couple of days is finally let go of things that I only do out of habit and no longer hold a real meaning to me and focus on ways to improve what I really, deeply care about.

This is also when you come into the picture.

I believe this blog as you know it is going to undergo some (more or less) drastic changes as well, and here is why.
I’ve always loved the idea of having a blog and being able to share my passions with other people.

Well, I have to do a mea culpa.

For the past months, since I created this blog, I’ve let my idea of a typical blog outclass the reason why I started mine in the first place.
This has lead to a series of small-talk posts which I felt were a sort of obligation towards the typical blog format (“everybody’s done it to establish a connection with the readers, one can’t simply start big with the heavy stuff”), but didn’t really strike me in any way.
Those posts were what I thought I was expected to talk about, rather than what I really would have loved to share.
The (sad?) thing about me is that I don’t know how to make small talk, I find it extremely difficult and hardly satisfactory.
My biggest mistake was thinking that I should change myself instead of wondering whether the blog was the right platform to talk about more serious topics.
To sum up, the whole “taking everything with lightness” approach simply isn’t working for me.

So, after destroying the old ones, let’s find new premises.

This is what I’m most passionate about and would love to share with you:

  • I’m overenthusiastic about making lists, I love to eat, I watch a ton of TV series and I’m working on my film culture.
  • I’m also a bookworm, constantly looking for quotes (which I always write down) and I’m especially passionate about philosophy, religion, atheism and politics.
  • I choose to stay indoor whenever I can, but I also like to dress well when I go out.
  • If I could, I’d probably try to learn any language, spoken or dead.
  • I love to solve problems (and I’m pretty good at it, try me) and I’d like to write a self-help book someday.
  • I’m extremely organized and would gladly spend my weekend tidying up other people’s closets (see my Mom’s).
  • Last but not least, I love (can’t stress this enough), LOVE coffee.

That’s what I’d love to talk to you about.

I’d really appreciate it if you could share your thoughts on the upcoming changes. Hope I’ll see you around.

Have a good one,

Sam

13 thoughts on “Changes (3 min read)

  1. Tish MacWebber

    Hello. I am fairly new to blogging, and I have already redone my first attempt at my WordPress page. Completely new. This being said, change has been good. My first attempt was a starting place. Now I am more confident in my presentation, that I worked on myself. I have made some new friends that helped me get it to where it is now. I have not had any specific plans for the blog, I am pantsing that as I go. I have started a few recurring subjects, and I like to try and have a point in my posts, or a little humour, or both. It is not blowing up, as they say, but it is still growing, progressing, even at a snail’s pace. I am not trying to be trendy or going out of my way to research topics that will get the masses flocking in, to like and follow. But I am having fun. If you have limited time, schedule blogging into your week. Commit to what you have time for, and stick to it. I think the reason I am finding it is something I want to keep working on is that it is fun. When it is no longer fun for me, then I will have to adapt and change, to find new inspirations and topics, to make it fun again.
    Coffee is something we have in common. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Tish, than you for stopping by!
      This is not my first time with a blog either. I too have attempted on multiple occasions, but I have a feeling that, just like you say, this time’s going to be different (in a good way).
      Thank you for sharing your story and for your precious tips!
      Hope you’ll have a great journey with your blog,
      xx Sam

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sam!

    Before anything else, I’d like to let you know that I think you’ve made the right choice in making these changes and laying down the things you actually want to talk about. It’s been years since I started doing this blog thing (for my own amusement, really, if nothing else) but I still catch myself writing themes in what you would see in a typical blog, just to “fit in”. I guess it just happens, but I really love how you were honest about it.

    Also, I feel you about having a difficult time making small talk! I love comments as much as the next person but it’s nerve wracking just thinking of coming up with a reply :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shing!
      I’m very glad you feel that way 🙂
      That’s exactly what’s been happening to me as well!
      Thank you for stopping by and for the support, it means a lot.
      Ps – I absolutely love your blog and I’ll try to squeeze in some comments whenever I have some time 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: ONE MORE TIME WITH LUCIDITY: A New Start – The Caffeine Gal

Leave a Reply

